SOLIDWORKS PDM 2017 introduced Latest Version Overwrite functionality, which enables users to overwrite the latest file version during check-in and change state operations. Previously, SOLIDWORKS PDM created a new file version for any change to a file or its metadata.

Here’s what you need to know about its intended use, the responsibility that comes with its use, and how to best implement the functionality.

Full Capabilities of the Latest Version Overwrite

  1. Empowers users to fix minor issues with a file without mandating the file be moved through the workflow to complete.
     
  2. Reduces the number of versions created to only what is necessary (e.g., end of day check-in). Each version of a file is a separate copy of the file located on the archive server.
     
  3. Updates parent documents to use the latest version of the child documents.
     
  4. Updates child documents without needing to change the referenced version of the child at the parent level.
     
  5. Updates the latest file version to the current SOLIDWORKS version (e.g., a file version upgrade from SOLIDWORKS 2016 to 2017).

A couple of uses that are not in line with the intended use include:

  1. Making changes to production released documents that affect fit, form, or function.
     
  2. Keeping all files to a single version.

But, With Great Power Comes Great Responsibility

When considering providing use of this functionality, it is critical to understand that it deletes data by deleting the existing file and overwriting it with the new version.  Once used, the previous version of the file no longer exists and cannot be retrieved. Because of this, GSC recommends providing the functionality to only a trusted group of users, super users, or administrators. It’s also worth noting the tool is not automated, which means users will have to enact it each time they want to put it to use.

Ready to Provide Your Trusted Users with the Latest Version Overwrite Functionality?

The Latest Version Overwrite functionality requires you to grant both folder and state permissions to the group/user of your choosing. These permissions are granted in the same manner as other permissions in the group/user properties. Since both folder and state permissions are required, the functionality is enabled for the group/user only for files matching both conditions. Additional folders and states must be set to expand the functionality as needed.

Folder Permissions

Group/User permission for the Latest Version Overwrite must be set for a specific folder or parent folder including the vault root if desired.

 

State Permissions

Group/User permission for Latest Version Overwrite must be set for each state, in each workflow as desired.

 

Check-in dialog

With each check-in operation, the user must check the box in the check-in dialog to specify the operation is to Overwrite Latest Version of the file. This option is never checked automatically and will be grayed out if permissions are not set for the operation. Notice that the Local Version and New Version are the same after the option is checked.

The Latest Version Overwrite is supported for files or documents. However, it is currently not supported for Items, Named BOMs, file versions that have associated Items set to Auto Update, or files checked in via a Web2 client.

If you’re interested in implementing the Latest Version Overwrite functionality or would like additional information, contact GSC’s PDM experts today. Our experts have partnered with hundreds of companies on simple and complex data management projects, providing them with the real-world knowledge to fuel your success.